KSHSAA Honors Area Schools with Statewide Sportsmanship Awards

TOPEKA – The Kansas State High School Activities Association, through its member schools, defines sportsmanship as those qualities of behavior which are characterized by generosity and genuine concern for others. Further, an awareness is expected of the impact of an individual’s influence on the behavior of others.

The excitement of a basketball game can create concerns for fans, students and officials. Citizenship/Sportsmanship Rule 52 addresses this by stating: “Win with character and lose with dignity.”

Outstanding sportsmanship is acknowledged each year by presenting sportsmanship certificates, plaques and medals. All 128 high school teams participating in KSHSAA State Basketball Tournaments may qualify for an award. A “rating” system is used allowing schools to compete against a “standard of excellence,” rather than competing against one another.

Schools whose teams did not advance to the semifinal rounds were eligible to receive a certificate if they met the qualifying standards of sportsmanship. Schools participating all three days of the tournament were eligible to receive a plaque for their school and medals for cheerleaders.

A special sportsmanship committee appointed by the KSHSAA evaluated and rated the cheerleaders, school cheering section, adult and non-high school followers, team and coach of each school. The following area schools qualified for sportsmanship awards at the KSHSAA State Basketball Tournaments:

  • Salina-Central: Nate Showman, Principal
  • Lindsborg-Smoky Valley: Bill Nelson, Principal
  • McPherson-Elyria Christian: Allen Siemens, Principal
  • Rural Vista: Mike Teeter & Joel Kahnt, Principals

A complete listing of statewide honorees can be found by clicking here.

Updated: April 2, 2018 — 11:51 am

%d bloggers like this: